The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner claims that skateboarding users are the reason that the business decrease in the plaza and the skateboarders cause the littering and vandalism increasing, so in order for the business to return, the city should ban skateboarding in the plaza. The argument is full of assumptions that are not back by any evidence that skateboarding is the issue.

First of all, is the increase of skateboarding the reason that causes the business decreasing in the plaza? In order to evaluate the recommendation, we need to know that there is no other reason, besides skateboarding, decrease the business because there might be a third variable causing the decline in business or the relationship is just a coincidence. For example, people might stop coming to the plaza because the things that are sold in the stores are too old-fashioned. It can also be that because there is another new plaza that just opens recently, and people like the stores in the new plaza more. In those cases, the relationship between the skateboarding and business will be just a pure coincidence and banning the skateboarding will not help improve the business. Moreover, a third variable like city promoting sports could be the reason the increase in the population of skateboarders and decrease the population of shoppers. Because people start spending time doing sports, such as skateboarding, more, they do not have time to go shopping. In this case, banning skateboarding might not help with the business because people could still turn to other sports, like basketball or running.

Secondly, do skateboarders cause the littering and vandalism? There might be other reasons that cause the increase in littering and vandalism in the plaza. For example, the janitors might quit the job, and no one is cleaning the plaza anymore so naturally there is more and more trashes. Moreover, vandalism could be caused by anyone from the neighborhood other than the skateboarders. Perhaps one of the store owners had a quarreling with a customer and the customer decides to revenge by damaging the properties in the plaza. In order to decide if the recommendation will improve the business, the city need to make sure the skateboarders cause the littering and vandalism, which bring down the business. If not, stopping the skateboarders would not solve the issue.

The author does not provide evidence that skateboarders are the reason for the decline in business and the littering and vandalism. As a result, the argument does not have the answers that are essential in evaluating the recommendation.