According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that all colleges and universities should adopt Groveton’s honor code because it would decrease the cheating. The argument is flawed because the evidences that the numbers of cheating have decreased and the analogy of the students saying they will be less likely to cheat are not sufficient.

Firstly, the validity of the numbers of the cheating reported is questionable. In the new honor code, the cases were reported by the students. On the contrary, in the old system, the cases were reported by the teachers. In order to evaluate the recommendation, it is important to know that if the likelihood of students reporting the cheating will be the same or better than the teachers. If the students are just as likely as or even more likely than teachers to report the cheatings, then the number would be valid. Otherwise, the students might be less likely to report cheating than the teachers. which would bring the numbers of the cheating down. Consequently, using the honor code will not necessarily help decrease the actual cheating.

Furthermore, the argument only uses the analogy of the students in Groveton. Although it might be true that the students in Groveton will be less likely to cheat with the new honor code, the students in Groveton are not the same as the students in other schools. The representative of the sample is essential in order to assess the recommendation. If the students in Groveton college can represent all other students in different schools, the students in other schools might actual stop cheating. As a result, the new honor code will be helpful.

In conclusion, in order to evaluate the argument, the validity of the numbers reported and the representative of the sample are needed.