The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claimed that Adam Realty is a better agency than Fitch Realty because it has more real estate agents, has more revenue last year, and sells the homeowner's property faster. Thus, listing home with Adam will be a better choice. However, the assumptions in the letters are not sufficiently supported.

First of all, the author makes the assumption that having more real estate agents means the real estate company is better. Thus, Adam is better because it has more real estate agents than Fitch. However, having more agents does not necessarily a company is better. Adam has more agents could be because it is an older company than Fitch, but the quality of the agents could be worse than Fitch. For example, the customer services of Adam could be inferior. In this case, Fitch would be a better company than Adam.

Secondly, the assumption that Adam’s revenue was better last year means Adam is better than Fitch is not effective. Just because the revenue of last year was higher does not mean the revenue is always higher. The revenue of Fitch might be better than Adam any other year, besides last year. Then, the argument that Adam can sell with a better price will be wrong.

Moreover, the homeowner makes the assumption that because Adam had sold his home faster than Fitch means that Adam is will be able to sell other houses faster than Fitch. However, the house that he/she asked the homeowner could be a better house than the one he/she asked fitch sold. Thus, it would be easier and faster for Adam to sell the house than Fitch. In this situation, Adam would not be able to sell every hose faster than Fitch.

The assumptions that the author makes are not sufficiently supported. As a result, the argument is not significantly persuasive.