Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people believe that everyone should follow the just laws and disobey the unjust laws without regards to the circumstance or individual’s opinion or judgment because it is our responsibility to do so. However, I do not completely agree with the claim.

First of all, there are laws that are clearly inhuman and wrong. In those cases, those laws are not beneficial to the society instead they could be harmful. For example, many years ago in Germany, the Nazi had laws that were absolutely unjustifiable and inhuman. Their laws like killing people who were not fair skin or blue eyes or using people for experiment against their will were just racist and immoral. Those laws were against our conscience. Just because they are the laws, it does not mean that we should follow them. If we just blindly follow the laws, we could be doing harm to our society and humanity.

It is understandable that some think that following the just laws are important in order to keep our society in order and safe. Whereas, breaking the laws are bad for the society and could cause chaos, so we should disobey and resist the unjust laws. It is everyone’s responsibility to do what is best for our society. However, there are circumstances that we need to set the laws aside and make decisions based on our judgment and righteousness despite breaking the laws. For example, Eric’s wife is dying and she needs money for medication in order to save her life. While Eric is walking to the hospital to see his wife, he sees money on the floor that he could use to buy medication and save his wife’s life. However, the laws require people to give the money to the police, and taking the money you find without giving it to the police is considered a crime. In the end, Eric decides to take the money and use it to buy medication to save his wife’s life. His action of not being able to disobey or resist the unjust laws is able to save a person’s life. However, if he decided to give the money to the police, his wife would have died. In this kind of situation, it is important to make decisions based on our own righteousness instead of following the just laws.

There are situations where following the just laws are not the best idea and some laws just should not be followed. As a result, I can agree with the claim that we should obey the just laws and disobey the unjust laws.