The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that adding a bicycle lane will encourage people to use their cars less to reduce rush-hour traffic on Blue highway; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that adding a traffic lane might not help to reduce traffic on Blue highway because same plan did not work for Green highway, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefore, not strong enough to lead to add a bicycle lane on Blue highway.

The author mentions that drivers’ spending time on Green highway has doubled during last year, however there is no information statistic numbers and reasons for it. The author does not talk about the total number of motorists’ population which is important information. If total number of car drivers on Green highway is doubles during last year, so it means that increases twice time of commuting time has nothing to do with that additional lane of traffic. In addition, the author does not talk about other factors that can affect the traffic on that area. For instance, if there were constructions on Green highway during past year, it could make a traffic worse.

Additionally, the author compares two different highways in two different regions of the town and expects to get the same consequences which is not logical. There is no information about number of traffic lanes on Blue and Green highways which can make a different perspective. For example, Green highway may have less traffic lanes with more motorists whereas Blue highway may have more traffic lanes with fewer car users which can make a different result about rush-hour traffic time.

The author mentions that there are many area residents who ride bicycles, however, there is no guarantee if adding a bicycle lane will encourage people to commute with bicycle instead of their cars. To strengthen his/her suggestion, the author needs to investigate about residents’ interest in riding bicycle through Green highway.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about statistic, similarities and differences between two highways, and interest of residents about riding bicycle on Blue highway. After answering these questions, he/she can make such a conclusion.