The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that providing a bicycle lane would reduce rush hour traffic issues rather than adding a lane to the nearby green highway. This might be true, however, before the conclusion can be adequately validated, the author should address these three unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that the only factor that doubled their commuting time is the increased rush hour traffic. This might not be true. Perharps most of the cummuters complaining are slow drivers or tyro in driving. Irrespective of the condition of traffic, slow or novice drivers will always spend more time commuting compare to expert drivers. In addition, May be commuters complaining branch many places when commuting. You cannot expect to spend the same time with someone who goes to one destination, when you branch many places before reaching your destination. If either scenerios above proves true, then the author's suggestion does not hold water.

Moreover, the author assumes that because that addition of a lane to nearby Green Highway failed last year, it will be a continuous trend in the subsequent years. This might not be true. Election comes once in four years in some countries, Maybe it was during election or when a big program was ongoing in Green Highway they provided the lane, obviously, it will still be jampacked, however, immediately Election or the program is done, the purpose of the lane would be fulfilled. If this proves true, then, the authors suggested is invalidated.

Finally, the author assumes the residents will ignore the advantages motocycles have over bicycles. This might not be true. Bicycles can only accomodate one person, what if they are going for a family conference, where they need to be together at the same time. What if some commuters cannot do without enjoying the air conditioning, musics and the coolness with motor cycles provide when travelling. The authors conclusion cannot be validated unless there scenerios are look into.

In conclusion, provision of a bicycle lane near Green Highways to reduce traffic jams, hence, reduce commuting hours cannot holds water if those assumptions above are not properly cleared.