Students who are given grades work harder than those who are not. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It can't be denied that humans always put their best into a project that has a reward. Consequently, an organization with a good system of monitoring workers cannot lack industrious members. Students are not exceptions to this ideology. In my opinion, I believe students who are awarded in the form of grades work more assiduously than those who are not. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will discuss in the following essay.

To begin with, a good grade can excite a student and even encourage him or her to do better. A bad grade can equally show a student his current level of knowledge, which can stimulate the student to improve and work harder. For instance, my personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Two years ago, I got ten percent on a chemistry exam at Obafemi Awolowo University. I realized I still needed to read some topics to understand and pass the subject. I burnt candles, read, and studied hard to rewrite the exam. I finally got a ninety-percent grade in the course. I was very excited, and this motivated me to prepare for other courses with all my strength. If I hadn't been scored, I wouldn't have known my strength in the subject. I would only know the superficial aspects of the course, which requires miniature energy.

Furthermore, allocating grades to students can incite harmless competition among them. This makes these students study hard to win the first position, especially if the winner has been designated to be given a scholarship. For example, ten years ago, I became addicted to reading books because I wanted to win a scholarship. This scholarship was intended to be awarded to the student who wins the first position. I had sleepless nights, skipped meals, and even ignored playing around as a little child so as to study well for the competition. My efforts were rewarded when I won both the competition and the scholarship.I learned to study easily during the process, and the skill helped me throughout my undergraduate period. If there wasn't anything like first position or grade, I wouldn't have had the opportunity to compete with anyone, and also enjoy the benefits that accompanied the process.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students that are graded work harder than those that are not. This is due to the excitement and competition that comes with grading students, which always motivates them to work harder.