The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper. "Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the editorial from local newspaper, it is stated that opponents have planed to add bicycle lane to blue highway rather than widening the highway buy adding additional lane. The opponents have came to this conclusion due to issues faced by Green highway last year and keen interest in bicycles by many area residents. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three question must be answered.

First of all are Green highway and Blue highway comparable? In other words scenario of one highway can be used to predict the other one? It is possible that Green highway might be located in urban area while Blue highway is located in rural area. Other possible scenario is that it is possible that Green highway construction is way different from Blue highway like one might have narrow roads and other doesn’t . Even it is possible that Green highway might have pit, bad or dangerous lane due to lack of construction but Blue highway may not have all this. So by considering this situation the assumption is getting weaken to compare both highway without getting into detail.

Second scenario might be that if you enjoy bicycling as hobby, then you are likely to use that mode of transportation to work. But what if percentage of people enjoying riding bicycling is very less compared to non riders. Even though some people enjoy riding bicycles but they can’t use this mode as transportation due to long distance between their home and work area. If rainy weather occurs it will make bicycle lane empty as no one would choose to bicycle and so traffic might get even worsened. Therefore assuming that bicycles lover’s would likely use this mode of transportation to work is not working.

Third case comes that adding bicycle lane will not result in any accidents that actually cause more traffic delays than the current set up. In other words traffic will get reduce by adding bicycle lane. It is possible that bicycle might even worsened the traffic delays, as if bicycle are on other lane, the vehicles might increase their speed than they were before. As before they might have fear of crashing with bicycle but now no fear. So prediction of less traffic due to no accidents by adding bicycle lane is weaken by above statements.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed down with several unwanted assumptions. If author is able to give detail answer to above three question through proper research and offer evidence, then it may

work to add bicycle lane to reduce traffic.