The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter of author to the editor of local newspaper there was suggestion to implement advertising campaign engcouraging residents of Masontown to recycle municipal garbage resulting decrease in disposal cost. While suggesting so author attributes to costsavings which were made by neighbouring Hayesworth town. However author lacks to provide justification and reasoning for his suggestion of lowering the garbage desposal costs.

Initially author suggests to encourage residents of Masontown to recycle more so that they could save on desposable fees. Here author fails to relate degree of the anology between garbage disposable fees and effects of recycling more. Additionally, the author lacks to provide the exact costs involved in disposal costs required for disposing certain amount of quantity. In order to strengthen these facts author must mention the statistical figures and strengthen the relation between the cost savings and recycling more.

Then author states that their neighbouring Hayeswoth town passed a law of either recycle or pay fine, which led to increse in cost savings of garbage disposal. This rises several doubts that, there might be possibilty that municipal garbage genaration might have fallen which would have affected prices to lower. This leads to failure of realting law with garbage disposable costs. Hence, author must provide detailed report of enforcing law and its results which led to costs to reduce.

Finally, author suggest to impliment advertising campaign encouraging residents to recycle will lead to cost saving is dubious. This raises doubt that there might be more costs involved in campaign which might overshadow the cost of recycling which will escalate the situation. So, there must be proper amount of statistical evidence of cost involved in campaign.

In order to strengthen authors argument of cost savings in disposal of municipal waste, the author must provide detailed analysis of situation along with bolstering of certain facts which are mentioned above.