Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

LOYALTY IS THE MOST IMPORTANT QUALITY IN MAKING FRIEND

Most of the people find different qualities appealing in one another to become friends. I disagree upon the statement citing loyalty is most important quality in choosing friends. For me, I would consider honesty over loyalty while making friends. I've elaborated on this in the subsequnt paragraphs.

Firstly, honesty is best for self improvement instead of loyalty. A loyal friend will always nod his head just for being a friend with me; irrespective of the correctness of my decisions/actions. My personal experience is profound example of this: While preparing for my semester exams, me and my friend came across a certain problem. The problem was daunting and time was limited that forced me to choose wrong solution which was later rectified by my honest friend. So, in this scenario being as a honest friend he helped me to solve the problem correctly. Contarary to this, if my friend would have been loyal then he wouldn't have corrected my wrong answer so as to remain friends being loyal. In this way honesty could help in personal development.

Secondly, with honesty there develops mutul-trust between friends, which is not possible in case of loyalty. This mutual trust will help to strengthen the friendship bond between friends which could sometimes last lifetime. My experience while manufacturing our project got to know the importance of mutual-trust. Our project involved extensive cutting of metal with grinders and cutters. These tools can be fatal when used in wrong manner. My friend being an honest one, he helped me in selecting the right procedure of cutting which could be feasible. Once, we had to cut certain portion where I had to hold the sheet metal with my legs in the proximity of fatal tools being used. He just cut that portion assuring me that I won't hurt me. Then the same thing happened without hurting anyone. So, this honesty developed strong mutual trust between us.

Based on my personal experiences, honesty helps in personal development and helps in development of mutual trust. So, I think honesty is the important quality while choosing friends instead of loyalty.