The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor, the author suggests that Parkville should cancel the athletic competition for children below 9 year of age due to many disadvantages. However, the claim drawn in the argument might ultimately prove valid, the prompt, as it stands now, contain three unstated assumptions that undermine its validity.

First of all, the author fails to mention about kinds of the injuries suffered by 40,000 younger children. For instance, the authors does not mention about the severity of the injuries. In addition, the cause of such accident has not been mentioned. It may be possible, that, due to improper maintenance has cause such dangerous outcome because of which it might not be as one of the reason for cancelling the competition for the young athletics.

Second of all, the author states that soccer players, in majority of cities, are experiencing mental pressure from their coaches and parents for winning the games. Here, the author assumed that other players are also facing the same problem as young soccer players. If it is really true that the result of recent study done on soccer player is applicable for depicting conditions of all other player then the author needs to state explicitly about the condition of other sports players.

Lastly, If children are participating in the league, then it is might be possible that they must be following a proper time table so that children study should not get disturbed. For instance, Time has been a lot for practicing after school. Furthermore, recession must have been made so that player should not miss their practice during competition. Therefore, it invalidate the author stated assumption that academic activities of students has been affected by long session of practice.

To conclude, although it is possible that the author’s conclusion is valid, the argument does not sound footing due to its reliance on three unwarranted assumptions. If the author would like to make the argument more persuasive then he must address the three assumptions by providing the most pertinent evidence.