The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the prompt, the author recommends that the Parkville authority should discontinue the organized athletic competition for children under the age of nine. The reason given to support this claim is that over 40,000 children suffered from injuries last year throughout the country. Moreover, the long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities, according to the writer. But, in my opinion, the argument is based on a lot of unstated assumptions and the author should answer the following three questions before the recommendation is accepted.

To begin, it is mentioned that over 40,000 young players suffered injuries throughout the country. But there is no mention of total players under the age of nine. If the data was given in the form of a percentage of a ratio, then it would have been possible to accurately consider the trend of the injuries. It might be the case that, the number of children participating in the you-league sports was in millions and thus, the injured children account for a very small percentage of the total children who participated. Also, the writer has assumed that all injuries are equally severe and mat cause significant harm to the child. But it may be the case that of these ‘40,000 injured children’ most of the injuries were minor ones and the children were back on there feet the next day.

Furthermore, the ‘recent study’ claims that youth-league soccer players are under psychological pressure from their parents and coaches to perform well in games. But can the assertion from a study for a particular sport be generalized for all types of athletic activities? It might be that, the competitive nature of the soccer league would have lead to increased pressure on the participating children. Also, it is imprudent to take a big decision for the Parkville city based on a ‘recent study’ conducted in some other cities. The writer has assumed that the conclusion of that study will hold even for Parkville without considering the difference in conditions between those big cities and Parkville.

Moreover, the writer has assumed that the children and their parents agree with the assertion of the ‘education experts’ that long practice sessions for sports take away time that could be utilized for academic activities. The parents might have a point of view, that physical activities should be given the equal importance as academic activities. The author has failed to account for the views of the concerned party that is the children and their guardians. They might view the athletic competition as a opportunity to imbibe the children with values on winning and losing and might even be fine with their children getting bruised up a bit as it will prepare them for the rigors of the real world. Hence, the unwarranted assumption of the writer, that the parents are onboard with views of the education experts is not correct.

In conclusion, the current state of the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unjustified assumptions. If the author is able to answer the aforementioned questions and provide concrete evidence supporting the claim, perhaps in the form of research study, then the viability of the recommendation to discontinue athletic competition for children under nine in Parkville can be fully evaluated.