The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Parson City residents place a higher value on providing good education in public schools than the residents of Blue City is not entirely logically convinving since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the amount of money spent on public schools is the only marker for the quality of education in public schools, in essence, the residents' concern with education in their cites can be appropriately measured with the tax revenues spent of public school

Secondly, the argument considers that money spent on public schools of the two cities comes solely from taxes collected from its residents. The author never addresses other sources of financial support that public schools of Blue city might be receiving, such as, government fundings and donations from charitable trusts.

On the other hand, even suppossing that the amount of money spent on public schools is an ideal indicator for the standard of education, the argument does not cast light upon the number of students or the number of public schools in the two cities. Clearly, a lower student population and a lesser number of schools would require lesser financial support. Moreover, the author does not present any information about private schools in these cities either.

Lastly, the author does not provide any evidence upon the expenses covered by the money spent on public schools. For instance, spending money on rennovation of school bulidings and beautification of campuses might not affect the standard of education in schools, while hiring more experienced teachers or, making school libraries more resourceful would definately enhance the education quality.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson city spent almost twisce as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools does little to prove the conclusion, since it does not address the assumptions already raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strenghtened if the author could have shown an extensive comparision between the schooling system of the two cities, with information about the number of students, teacher, staff and schools in the two cities, along with imrovements made in public schools with the taxes collected from the residents. This would help analyse and set a corelation if higher money spent on public educational institution implies a better schooling system.