Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Popularity and public image have become an important part of the contemporary society. Advertisments of companies claim their products and servies to be the very best, numerous articles on magazines and the internet are extentsively utillised to create a flourishing and appealing image before the common masses. But, according to me, this is just the tip of the iceberg, gleaming bright in the rays of the sun, and the truth or reality that lies beneath this image might often come as shocking or even unbelievable.

In our daily lives, we are surrounded by public figures. Newspapers, tabloids, the internet are filled to the brim with updates about politicians, celebrities, authors, etc., all of them in a pursuit to establish a bright image of them. For instance, we have often witnessed politicians engaging in charitable work, donating to funds, visiting slums and the underprivileged as a part of campaigning for elections, only to be caught slacking, and not fulfilling any of the promises made to general public to gain more votes. Moreover, a lot of government officials, religious leaders and celebrities have been found to be engaging into illegal and unethical activities such as bribery, supply and consumption of illegal drugs, poaching of animals, sex and child trafficking. These examples clearly show how most of the emminent personas are only concerned with making an appealing image in the public.

Again, in this age of numerous social media platforms buzzing in through our daily lives, it appears extremely difficult to distinguish between reality and just a facade. Influencers on platforms such as Instagram and YouTube portray themselves to be living the best of their lives, travelling to various countries and indulging into multitudes of luxuries. This pretentious lifestyle does not portray any of the daily struggles that a person has to go through in his daily life. On one hand, one might be suffering from mental health issues, such as anxiety, lonilness and depression, which on the other hand we post photos of us partying and 'enjoying life' on our social media accounts, only to pretend to be something else, and make an appealing public image.

In conclusion, we can see how today's world revolves around how we are perceived by others, no matter what might lie beneath that bright facade. Popular public figures like politicians, actors, social media influencers are often found to be involved in numerous scandals, although they portray themselves to be righteous and of moral character in front of the general public. On the other hand, when we take a peek deep enough in the daily life of an ordinary person, seemingly 'living the best of their lives' on facebook, instagram, or twitter, we might find them struggling with many problems of daily life.