Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From the stone-age to this age, humans have evolved a lot. In fact, it’s inventions and discoveries that made us superior to the other animals in this Earth. While some discoveries and inventions are by accidents, others mostly are by the sincere efforts of the people towards it. So, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt above.

To begin, sometimes, the discoveries are made by accidents. In other words, it is by lucky chance, the things are discovered. For instance, the Radium which was discovered by Marie Curie was by fortune. She was curious of the glowing thing- Radium. She eventually found that was due to Radioactivity. She was awarded with novel prize for this discovery. It was vital for the cure of cancer. Therefore, it is sometimes by lucky chance, discoveries are made.

However, in most of the cases, the inventions and discoveries were the results of the assiduous effort to find the truth underlying beneath it. For instance, the discovery made by Newton was not fortuitous. Rather, it was his keen interest to find the cause beneath the falling of apple on his head. Similarly, the Newton’s laws of motion are also result of his deep and careful study.

Like Newton’s, Right brothers’ invention of plane was due to their persistent effort to accomplish it. They made successful flight in the third attempt. Their dream to fly in sky like the birds was fulfilled because of their diligent work. Moreover we can take the discoveries of the great scientist Albert Einstein. All of his discoveries including General Theory of Relativity, Photo-electric effect, and so on are the outcomes of the careful experimentation and research.

In sum, sometimes it is true that discoveries and inventions are result of accidents like in case of Marie Curie , but in most of the cases these are the result of sincere and careful effort for its accomplishment- like Newton’s and Einstein’s- as mentioned above.