The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The university must consider some of the likely scenarios before going ahead with the free-tuition policy. First of all, they must evaluate how many professors's children want to pursue the programs offered by the Seatown Universities. If this policy is supposed to be a major selling point for the new professors to join the university, then it is hardly going to create an impact on those children interested in other college programs.

The free-tuition policy might work reasonably well for luring older professors.In order to attract younger professors, who are unlikely to have college-aged children for a while, the university must offer some flexibility in terms of research and development to the professors. There can be other incentives to attract the comparatively younger professors, such as by means of good grant, subsidy in other forms such as accommodation, etc.

Another important evidence to consider is the freedom afforded to professors in terms of the research. A free tuition policy might encourage retention of faculty due to benefits provided to their children but it is unlikely to increase morale if the professors are only staying for the sake of their children. In such a case, this free-tuition policy would essentially serve as a round peg for a square hole. The professors will want to work in a cogent environment that allows them to have a certain degree of freedom regarding the topics they want to work and the equipments for verification of their theoretical formulations. So in order to keep the morale up, the university might consider spending in laboratory equipments and allowing the professors a certain degree of freedom so that they feel valued and backed.

Similarly arguments can be made about the disparity among different college departments or different labs within the same department regarding facilities and grants provided. Therefore, the university must be sure that such a policy will indeed boost the morale and not just be a stop-gap solution to retain the faculty. If such discrepancies and disharmony exist, then this policy might be able to persuade faculty to stay in the university for a few more years till their children graduate but they are likely to consider to leave soon after that.