The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that the Seatown University should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors to join the university. The main evidence that the argument provides for the same is that more professors are retained when their college-aged children are offered a free tuition at the university. There are two questions that I would like to raise before concluding that the current research is best for the university to retain its professors.

Firstly, Is the ratio of professors having college-aged children to those not having college-aged children higher? It is stated that more professors are retained because their college-aged children are offered free tuition, but what if this conclusion is only based on a small proportion of the professors that have college-based children. For example, among all the professors only 30% of the professors have college-based children. And this research is done only among this 30% of the professors, it would be an invalid case as it would ignore a majority of the professors that do not have college-based children.

Secondly, Is there any proper analysis that this offering would lure the new professors? Until now it has always been believed that the professors are older in age and would have grown-up kids, but with the advancements in generation more and more young graduates are aiming to become professors. And so the avg age for new professor intake has been decreasing. As we know, the younger professors might not be married to have college kids, and even though they have kids, can it be asserted that they are college-aged? Because if it can't be proved, the above argument would not stand valid based on this assumption.

Thirdly, Is the assumption that the professors are more concerned about the benefits they get from the university rather than other moral desires true? All professors might not be willing to work just because of the benefits they get from the job. Professors are considered to be selfless, perhaps next to gods for developing and moulding young generation to achieve something bigger in the future.

The above-raised concerns must be proved invalid in order to consider the conclusion made in this argument. If the faculty committee could provide proper research and analysis, perhaps along with the statistics and the numbers, it would be more appropriate to validate the argument to a conclusion. This would help us to decide if the university should institute a free-tuition-based policy to lure professors.