Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The debate regarding the phrase "follow your dreams" has been running since long back. Many people know the feeling of succeeding in one's dream, and many others often oppose that the dreams are not worth sacrificing everything for. The prompt here suggests that young people should be thought to pick worthy goals instead of simply following what they dream of. I completely disagree with this because of the following three reasons.

Nothing is selfless in this world. There might be cases where we see people aiming for the wrong outcomes, perhaps that is what they having been dreaming of since a kid, but it might be the same with the people picking worthy goals. The outcomes of the desire behind the dreams should not be blamed on the way people mould their dreams. To illustrate the same, We often listen to or see various news regarding the people running the tech giants, or Multinational companies as many call them. All we know is that the people (CEO to be specific) behind the success of these tech giants, picked this as a worthy goal that they have fulfilled. But are we so sure that there is no selfish reason involved behind this? There are many things happening in the background that the common crowd isn't aware of. To reach a topmost position, it is often intended that certain decisions should be taken which might not be so appropriate in our conscience, but that doesn't mean that one must not follow his dreams. Not matter if we follow our dreams or pick worthy goals instead, the decisions taken will not always be pristine.

We might have come across various cases where people have picked up an __ instead of following what they actually want and regretting the same in the later stage of their life. Scientists have demonstrated that most per cent of humans achieve greater success when they follow their passion as compared to the ones who think practically and pick what they think will get them the success. For example, we often see people working in software companies are fed up after a certain point in their life. Many graduates aim for software jobs as it would give them the success they desire in a much easier way. But once they enter this field, they get stuck in a loop, which they do not know the exit for. In the end, this results in unhappiness, reduced results, abated personal growth which is not healthy.

One might argue that picking worthy goals are easier to achieve and will promise a stable, prosperous and desired future. But do you think, if we sacrifice our goals and work on something which does not define us or our motivation, it will take us to a better place in future? It is always a misconception of people that a particular path would give them the success they desire. And in the end, that is what stagnates our growth to achieve bigger. Therefore, we must always follow our dreams to achieve happiness and what we deserve.