The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and (4) climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

In the letter from a firm with a recommendation of investment, the advisor suggests investing in Consolidated Industries, expecting the increment in usage of heating oil. The author solely believes that unusually cold weather will be prolonged in the future, and the population in the region will increase as well. However, prior to taking into consideration investing in Consolidated Industries, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how much more heating oil is used for the period of 90 days with atypically low temperature compared to the previous years in the northeastern United States? Is it possible that heating oil usage was not increased as much as the advisor assumed? In the letter, it states that heating oil is the major resource in winter but fails to mention other recourses. Also, the advisor fails to provide the actual relationship between cold weather and heating oil consumption and how much heating oil was used in last year compared to the previous years which is very critical information. Without this information provided, it is hard to believe that the recommendation holds true.

Secondly, is heating oil the only recourse to go through winter for the residents in the northeastern area? Is it possible to have any other heating oil suppliers available in the region? The letter fails to inform the public whether Consolidated Industries monopolizes the heating oil market or shares the market with other companies. If Consolidated Industries share the market, how much does Consolidated Industries secure the market share? The unwarranted assumption could weaken the suggestion.

Third, Is Waymarsh University a reliable and reputable source? The advisor quotes that unusually cold weather patterns will continue for several more years, thus increased in heating oil usage. However, the advisor is reluctant to inform the people how trustworthy Waymarsh university’s data is, and it is almost impossible to trust the university without knowing how well equipped to perform, such as meteorological data, computational equipment, predictions models, and so forth.

In summary, the argument is not compelling to invest in Consolidated Industries and lacks of data to validate the assertion regarding the increasing demand for heating oil in many aspects. If the advisor is able to answer those three questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the validation of the suggestion.