The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner in his letter to a friend concludes that if he wishes to sell his home quickly and at a good price, he should stay with Adams Realty. He provides support for this conclusion showing some evidences like Fitch Realty took more than four months to sell his house and Adam Realty took only a month to sell his house in last year, Adams Realty has more real estate agents than Fitch Realty and they got a lot more revenue than Fitch Realty. However, the argument is seriously flawed as it is based on some assumptions which are unwarranted. Three of them are stated below.

First of all, the author of the letter assumes that for a real estate firm, the number of employees plays an important role in determining which farm is superior to others. However, this may not be the case. Farm with greater number of employees can face some serious issues like internal conflicts and partisanship between the employees. They may have conflicts with other very frequently and this will provide a very deleterious effect in the performance of the farm. If this is the case, then the argument on which the conclusion is based is seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is important to determine whether Adams Realty will continue to earn profits in the upcoming years like the previous year. The author prematurely assumes that Adams Realty will continue to earn profit in the previous year’s trend. However, this may not occur in reality. Perhaps, Adams Realty can incur a huge amount of loss in the next year, after the year in which the letter was written. If this comes out to be true, then the argument will not hold water.

Last, but not least, it is very important to determine whether Fitch Realty takes a long time to sell houses, very similar to the case it took ten years ago. The homeowner assumes that Fitch Realty will take almost the same long time today. In reality, this may not be the case. It is very possible that Fitch Realty is taking a very short time to sell a house, may be within three weeks. The argument fails to acknowledge this possibility and so the argument is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it is based on some unwarranted assumptions like the stated three cases above. If the homeowner can provide enough evidences for the stated three cases, then the conclusion can be evaluated otherwise it will remain seriously flawed.