The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although, author's words appear so clear there is lot of ambiguous in the argument. It assumes that private contributions which are increased by 200 percent and as the symphony announced an increase in ticket prices for the next year are enough to help the struggling symphony and government so can stop its funding. But it is obscure while considering percentage and also increase in ticket prise always doesnt indicate that demand has increased.

Firstly, author mentioned that 200 percent increase in private contribution is already helpful for the enhancement of symphony. But a big percentage always doesn't indicate big amount in numbers. For example there were 100$ private contributions fewer. So, this just increases 300$. Thus increase in percentages cannot decide the how big the amount was. Even if the private contribution were increased in a significant number but this might not be sufficent. So, we cannot come to a conclusion that government can stop funding for symphony.

Secondly, author states that as the symphony announced there will be increase in ticket price from next year. so, it is assumed that there is in an increase in profit. but this isn't the case every time because there maybe a circumstances where the symphony was running more worse so managemnet has decided to increase the ticket price. So, as to cover up that looses.

Finally, author must have stated things more clearly like what was the increase in private contribution and what was the amount previously author must also have mentioned the actual reason for the increase in the ticket price. All of this unstated things left the argument in a ambiguous way.