The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion of the author may seem convincing at first. He avers that Adams’ real estate firm is superior comparing with Fitch’s one. However, there are some unstated assumptions which can weaken the argument if it is true, or can cause ambiguity in the argument.

First, he states that Adams Realty is superior because Adams has 40 real estate agents, comparing with 25 from Fitch. It may be true if it is said about the quality of work. For example, the Adams’ agents work more efficiently than Fitch’s agents. While Adams’ agents are able to sell 50 properties a day, Fitch’s agents are able to sell just 20 or less.

Besides, the average of Adams’ home sales was much bigger than Fitch’s ones due to the location where Adams was in the previous year. The high level society made Adams much more profitable than Fitch. Fitch was located in the medium class area.

Furthermore, the author says that it took four month or more to sell his property with Fitch ten years past, which with Adams it took just one month in the previous year. It might have happened because maybe, ten years before there were few people in the Fitch’s area looking for houses. In contrast, in the Adams’ area many people were looking toward to buying houses. Besides, as it is mentioned above, there were many high class people.

Finally, if the author wants to get his argument stronger, clear evidence are wanted to become stronger the conclusion.