Some people believe that exploring outer space is important. Other people believe that space exploration is a waste of money.
I believe that space exploration has its advantages and its disadvantages. However, I feel that its disadvantages
outweigh its advantages.
Firstly, many people argue that the universe is so big and that it would be an awful waste of space if we were
the only ones occupying it and it is for this reason that we should explore new frontiers in the space. I do not
agree with this stance because we have enough to discover here on our planet as it stands. There are uncharted
territories and breath-taking vistas that we have yet to encounter or even species of flora and fauna that have
yet to be identified.
Secondly, there is talk of us humans having so much to learn from the universe and that the cure for our diseases
and pain is out there somewhere in the universe. If we were to look at the amount of money being pumped into
space exploration we will see that billions of dollars are essentially being 'wasted'. Back in the 1950s there was
the 'Space Race' between Russia and the USA to put the first man into space. All the money spent on the race
could have been put to much better use i.e. preventing world poverty. I firmly believe that money spent on space
could be spent on much more important research here on earth such as finding a cure for cancer or even just
better quality of life in third world countries.
In conclusion there are still many things to do here on our beautiful planet. As humans we are the only species
that does not contribute to the ecosystem -we make things worse off for everyone. I think we should work
towards making our planet a better place instead of just looking for a replacement.