The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the author suggests that Super Screen Movie Production Company should spend more budget on advertising in order to get more people to attend the movies. To support the argument, the author points out that fewer people attended the movies last year but movie reviewers were positive to the movies, which leads the problem to the public's lack of awareness about the movies. However, there are couple of questions that need to be answered before Super Screen can decide to reject or accept this proposal.

First thing we need to know how many people attended the movies last year. The author states that fewer people attended during the past year but he or she did not provide the actual number and the comparison with the numbers in other years. Maybe it is only 1 or 2 percent less in the past year in terms of attendants. Or, maybe there is a huge slump which might surface out some problems under the opperation of the company. Without the discrepancy being indicated, the production company might not be conviced that they actually need to take the situation seriously.

Another question needs to be clarified is whether the positive reviews by movie reviewers are responsible for the quality of the movies. The hidden assumption behind implied by the author is that since the percentage of positive reviews increased, there should not be any issue with the quality of the movies. However, this might not be true because movie reviewers' opinions cannot necessarily account for the quality of the movies. Other people's views should be taken into account, for example, those movie producers, directors, actors and other people who work in the movie industry, and most importantly, the audience. If their opinions are opposite to movie reviewers, we could not conclude that the quality of the movies are fairly good enough to attract audience. The author would have to consider these points of views before linking the relationship between the reviews and the quality of movies.

Last but not least, even though it might be true that the public's lack of awareness is responsible for the decline in the past year, there is no concrete evidence to answer the question whether Super Screen is capable to execute the plan of allocating the share this year. Maybe due to the drop last year, the revenes the company earned were much less and thus, the budget for this year has been trimmed. In addition, without enough budge to utilize, the company might choose to spend the budget on those affair that are more important such as movie production, salaries, daily expenses, etc. Without taking these factors into consideration, the author could not draw the conclusion that the proposal is absolutely feasiable.

To sum up, altough the author proposed an probably effective solution for the company to gain back audience, there are a few questions need to be answered for a more compeling and well-founded argument. These questions include, but are not limited to how many people attended the movies last year with comparison to the numbers in other years, whether the positive reviews can be responsible for the quality of the movies, and whether Super Screen is able to execute the plan to increse budget for advertising.