The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friends play an important part in our daily lives. They bring us joy, happiness, and support. Without doubt, no one is going to survive easily in this world if he or she does not have any friends. The statement that it is more important to have a long period of friendship with several friends compared to making new friends readily is a intriguing topic. I tend to agree with this statment, and I believe that a long-standing friendship is vital to everyone.

Friends are a necessary part for everyone in the world because friends are the most important companions in addition to families. Without friends, people might feel lonely and easily get lost when they are upset or depressed. For example, when I was abroad, my families were far away and my friends became the most important resources I resort to, especially when I encountered problems or setbacks. In such situations, I would invite my friends to a bar and get rid of the negative feelings simpily by drinking. It was so helpful that I was able to recover and get myself into either the study or job quickly. Therefore, friendship is pivotal and beneficial.

A long-standing friendship is much more important than a newly made friendship because old friends tend to be more faithful and supportive. Time is one of the best tool to test truth of friendship. For example, I have known my roommate, also my high school classmate, for more than 10 years. There is no doubt that I would rank him the number one if there is a ranking. We had conflicts and fights when we were young, but with time passing by, those experiences and memeories became an important attribute that turned our friendship much stronger, much genuine. In addition, he is willing to offer help for me whenever I need support. For instance, I was short of money because I did not find a job when I graduated. He lended me 10000 yuan without any hesitation to help me go thourgh the tough time. Therefore, compared to a new friendship, a long-standing friendship is much more helpful.

Admittedly, it is true that making new friends is also vital since every long-standing friendship was transformed from a novel one. Moreover, connecting with new friends are beneficial to broanden people's horizons and job hunting. For example, when I was in Singapore, I knew a lot of new friends from various countries, such as Thailand, India, Singapore, etc. They offered me fresh culture of their own hometowns and they also taught me their own languages and dialects. It was so much fun to be exposed to the culture shock and to learn the new languages. What's more, I secured my internship in Singapore because I knew a CEO who was a founder of a start-up at that time. I attended a networking session, and exchanged my thoughts with the CEO. After that, I received an interview invitation and further obtained the internship. Thus, making new friends can not only futher the knowledge, but benefit job seeking.

To sum up, even though making new friends is important to our life, a long-standing friendship is much more important because old friends tend to be true friends. Old friends are the friends who we can trust and they are also the friends who will stand up whenever we need helps.