The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation in the memo appears to be a strategic way of sustaining operations in business and generating profit while serving a larger audience with varieties of low-priced products. This recommendation came about as a result of the massive sales that Bargain Brand witnessed by introducing a low-price breakfast cereal, they also realized that top brands are trying to adopt the same strategy which shows the effectiveness of the strategy. However, the recommendation seems to be based on certain assumptions, it also fails to include assumptions that must hold true for the conclusion to be true. Until then, can the recommendation stand.

The first unstated assumption is the assurance that the intended food products of the low price will be needed by their large target market. Well, it is possible that their target market is most interested in breakfast cereals, the passage does not provide the support that they might be in need in the intended products of launch. In order to ascertain this, market research may need to be conducted to determine the demand for the new products and the willingness of their target audience to buy even if sold at the most minimal price. If this assumption proves unwarranted, the recommendation might not hold.

In contrast to the recommendation, there is an assumption that the majority of their target market are low-class/economy/ mass market consumers. These are the category of customers that may be interested in buying goods at a cheaper rate due to the level of their disposable income. For example, the high-class/luxury target market attributes quality to price, this means that they are likely not going to be buying from Bargain Brand. Also, the fear of the brand is in profit generation, that is the major reason why they want to introduce varieties of low-price products, they, however, failed to understand that some products if targeted to the luxury market will earn them more profit when compared to the low-class market. If these assumptions prove unwarranted, the recommendation might be screaming weakness.

Furthermore, the memo contains information that spots an unstated assumption that the Bargain Brand identifies low-pricing as the only strategy that describes its success in the cereal business. It is possible that other factors must have contributed to their success in the breakfast cereal that was introduced in the market. For example, there is a potential that they acquire raw materials from a cheaper source or where the company is located gives them the luxury of low cost on operational expenses. The illustrated factors might be favorable for only the breakfast cereal product and might not be favorable for other intended products. Bargain Brand, however, needs to identify different success strategies for the business instead of launching other products of low pricing. Until this assumption is proved valid, the recommendation might hold.

In conclusion, the evidence in the memo does not really strengthen the recommendation. If the above-unstated assumptions are verified and proven to be true, then the recommendation might stand true and be effective. Asides from the unstated assumptions, more evidence is needed to ensure that introducing varieties of low-price products is the right move for Bargain Brand.