Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teachers are agents of change in all areas of disciplines that contribute to the growth of a nation’s economy. They do this by impacting positively on students who leave their homes to schools with the hope of learning something new and grow to take up positions that matter. Well, it is generally known that huge responsibility rests on their shoulders with a category of teachers benefiting more than others- most times, who does the most jobs, the question is, how can teachers be encouraged to do more? How can the wheats be separated from the chaffs?

Ensuring an improved academic performance of students is the anchor every school provides parents/guardians to hold onto. In most cases, this anchor fails to support the goal. This can be as a result of various factors; the student, the school’s learning system, the learning environment, and the teacher. Resolving the teachers' contribution to the failure is something that can be controlled thus the need to base teachers salaries on the academic performance of their students. Interestingly, an average human needs money to meet various financial responsibilities, therefore, understanding that the ability to earn more is dependent on visible results on their students, teachers will thrive to ensure that academic performance of their students are achieved. On the other hand, in a situation where salaries are not dependent on the performance of the students, some high-degree teachers might not be doing so much but earning so much because of their qualification. For example, in most Nigerian schools, salaries are based on qualification and experience, not necessarily the positive impact on students. To be honest, that has done more harm than good in the educational system in Nigeria, qualification does not mean capability.

Furthermore, using academic performance to determine salary seems valid as it might help to regulate misplaced priorities and channel enough focus on the goal of education. Other criteria can be an added advantage to increase salary and if for instance, a teacher qualifies all-round, great! An illustration can be seen in a case where output/results is a constant factor to determine salary; together with an additional salary bonus for qualification and related factors.

In addition, in an attempt to earn more and impact, teachers will be provoked to improve on their delivery styles and come up with creative strategies that will promote active learning. Similarly, students will be able to experience a new form of learning system and be challenged to do better. If this is not achieved, students and teachers will be reluctant and used to the conventional and obsolete teaching methods thereby increasing its dominance in the educational system. For example, a certain school might not be used to technological tools and use of real life visuals and graphics in teaching students. It will cause the curiosity of a teacher to find out ways it can be adopted in the school knowing there is a reward attached to it.

An opposer of this recommendation might present a fact that most aspiring teachers might not necessarily pay attention to acquiring a high-level degree since it plays a minimal role in income generation. To refute it, inherent abilities, practical results, and individual capabilities are more valuable than qualifications. In some cases, people get qualified the wrong ways, pay money to get a degree, cheat in exams and do a lot more dubious acts which do not prove actual capability. However, a great qualification is an added advantage to teachers who are intentional with impacting students. In general, potential and current teachers are meant to work towards contributing to an improved academic performance of students for a better future.