It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Culture, by definition, is the people’s way of life; cultural tradition can be related to a nation’s identity through the people that exist in it. The statement posits where cultural tradition is “primarily” formed and preserved, without a second thought, many people will oppose cultural tradition having a relationship with cities. However, my opinion on the statement presents 3 reasons that are based on a “mostly disagree” stance depending on how the recommendation is viewed.

In contrast to the statement, a nation is made up of different ethnic groups; communities, states, zones, etc, thus, the nation’s cultural tradition as a whole is as a result of the aggregation of the individual cultural traditions from the group listed above. With the above stated, location should not be a factor that should determine how a nation’s tradition emanates from. For example, the Igbos in Nigeria are popularly known for their apprenticeship culture of youth development which originated mostly from villages in Anambra state, till date, this culture is still adopted and can be classified as part of the Nation’s cultural tradition. The example spreads out to the other ethnic and sub-ethnic groups in Nigeria that trace traditions to the days of their forefathers in the rural area. This reason disagrees with the fact that the cultural tradition of a Nation is generated in cities.

Furthermore, the preservation of cultural tradition can be attributed to the similarities amongst the people in a particular location. A location that contains people from different countries, and communities of a particular country actually does not assure preservation of cultural traditions because they come together with their individual traditions and sets of beliefs, then the battle of who influences who begins. For instance, In Nigeria, Lagos as a popular city with approximately 14 million residents harbors people from the different states in Nigeria as well as people from foreign countries. These individuals contribute their beliefs, culture, experience to what Lagos is seen as today. In addition, If a survey were to be conducted on determining the cultural traditions that govern Lagos State as a Yoruba state, of course, the responses of these external entrants will be captured, which proves that a city is not the best characterization of where culture is “primarily” formed or even preserved. Another instance is with the case of children who are raised in the cities, most of them are clueless about their cultures and traditions and even struggle to speak their native languages, but when compared to children raised in villages where culture emanates from, the difference will be quite glaring. With the “child” instance above, can it be said that cities might be contributing to the extinction of culture and tradition?

However, when viewed from a different perspective, a city might still be made up of people from analogous ethnic groups, cultural backgrounds, and belief systems, etc. If this is the case, the statement might hold true. For instance, a city is believed as containing more residents and activities than a village, it is possible that a village can develop and accommodate people from neighboring villages and eventually turn into a city. In this case, a particular culture can be said to have originated from the city and as well can be preserved.

In conclusion, there is actually a level of complexity in the statement, the instances in the first two reasons stated above might be more common than the third reason, it does not mean the statement should adopt a holistic view with disagreeing or disagreeing with the statement. In my opinion, still, the culture of a nation is not “primarily” generated and preserved in the cities.