The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing quot During the past year workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on the job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries where the work shifts

In the memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing, It is stated that reducing the work shift by one hour they can improve Butler Manufacturing’s safety record. They concluded this on the basis of Panoply Industries records and government study reports. In order to effectively evaluate this recommendation, It is crucial to address three key questions beforehand.

Firstly, Are Panoply Industries comparable with Butler Manufacturing? In other words, Can we relate the accidents occurring in Panoply industries with Butler Manufacturing? Of course not! The reasons for accidents may vary company to company. Also, according to memo, there is mentioned that 30 percent more on-the-job accidents were reported in Butler Manufacturing than Panoply Industries and we cannot compare the case where the numerical value could be vast difference and this percentage is not giving us actual numerical data. So In this way the given argument seems weak.

Secondly, Are fatigue and sleep deprivation only the reasons behind those accident? It is totally unjustified if we only consider these two reasons. There could be more than that. It could be unavailability of safety equipment, conflict between workers, negligence, mismanagement and many more. These could be more serious and severe reasons. Mainly, Accidents are more vulnerable to unavailability of safety equipment and mismanagements, but the aforementioned arguments totally ignored these reasons. So, depending only on two reasons and concluding on that basis is totally unwarranted.

And Lastly, Can we fully trust the reported survey? There are two survey mentioned on the argument. First, reports on accident rate and second Government study report. There could be more accidents rate at Panoply Industries which were not included or what if for better result Panoply industries could lie on their report. Is that report trustworthy? And We cannot solely depend on the study report provided by government, It can be argued that, study report made by government is not equally applicable to Butler Manufacturer. May be this study report were from different location and different company which could be true for this one. So depending on irrelevant report also make this argument indefensible.

In conclusion, the current argument suffers from significant flaws primarily because it relies on a number of unjustified assumptions. However, if the author can address the aforementioned three questions and present additional evidence( such as systematic and comprehensive research study) it will be possible to reduce work shift by one hour to improve the accident rate.