Teachers salaries should be based on their students academic performance

The prompt recommends that teachers’ salaries should be driven by their work product which is students’ academic performance in this scenario. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this prompt for these reasons.

To begin, Students’ academic performance is directly proportional to the teaching skill of teachers and we should respect their skills and give them salaries according to their results on students. For instance, if we got a teacher who has profound knowledge but failed to deliver in class, that would be harmful to students’ careers and also to the academic institute. So, it would be worthless to give them the same salaries as compared to those teachers having the best delivery and teaching skills. It will be unfair for erudite and adroit teachers. We can get a lot of examples of tuition culture in Nepal, where students pay more amount of money to get the best teacher and to be guided by them. Whereas tuition centers of those teachers whose past results on students’ performance are poor are getting shut down. This illustrates that even if the individual student prefers to give more payment to deserving teachers, then why should the institute not provide better salaries for better teachers and reduced salaries for bad teachers?

Secondly, Competition among teachers helps students to grow their academic performance. If we provide more salaries to those teachers who have better results on students’ performance, they would be more euphoric and moreover, they give their best to students. And if we provide low salaries to those teachers who have worse results, they would question themselves and try to improve their skills to make better students’ academic performance. For instance, In most private schools in Nepal, There is a practice of evaluating the performance index of teachers which is solely based on the academic performance of students under the supervision of parents committee. And evaluation leads to salary plus minus grade. This kind of evaluation and policy gives the opportunity for teachers to make themself serious and motivated with regard to students’ academic performances. This kind of impartiality over salaries improves students’ academic performance.

Of course, some argue that teachers’ salaries should be constant and that students’ academic performances are not solely dependent on teachers. However, I want to clarify that, it’s the teacher who should motivate students and make them priceless statues from raw clay. And concerning constant salary, here is one example, there are fixed salaries for teachers in government schools of Nepal, and we are well-known for the poor academic performance of their students. Fixed salary makes the teacher feel secure about their financial situation and does not seem to give any serious care to students. This clearly indicates that fixed salary is constantly deteriorating the motives and skill of teachers which directly affect the student’s academic performance.

So, for better students' future, teachers' salaries should be according to their work.