The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation mentioned in the question is about whether the subsidy for the symphony orchestra in Grandview should be eliminated or not. The writer of the memo believes that it should be eliminated. However, the reasons mentioned above are not enough cogent for the elimination of the government budget for symphony orchestras. The writer’s assertion had been more valid if he/she would have checked more factors for this decision.

In the first paragraph the writer mentions that while the orchestra was struggling to succeed, the government promised annual funding. The question is that what problems did the orchestra have that the government decided to help it? There is no mention about the reasons for government support. Also, we cannot understand from the letter, whether all problems have been solved for not getting the state budget. The recommendation of the writer had been more persuasive if he/she would have mentioned the reasons for getting support and removing it. The only reason mentioned above is related to the private contributions to the orchestra. The statistical figure brought in the letter is not valid. The writer has not mentioned that according to what source, he/she has brought the figure related to this private support. The question is that if government eliminated the budget whether the private support would increase in the future. How does the writer ensure that the support from the private sources will not be stopped? If the support from the private sources to be removed or reduced whether the orchestra would be able to cope with its expenses?

How does the writer ensure that the attendance at the concert is doubled? Did she/he have any research about the number of people in the concert? It is possible that the figures about the this subject are wrong.

Also the question is that if the financial support from private sources is enough, why the orchestra wants to increase the price of tickets. What are the reasons behind the increasing the price of tickets? If the orchestra does need the support of government, why officials what to increase the price of ticket? One of the reasons may is that the support may not be enough for them and they want to compensate for their expenses in this way.

Additionally, there is no mention about the amount of money the government decided to help. Whether the budget considered for the concert is enough significant in order for the government to decide to eliminate it to compensate for the city budget deficit.

In conclusion, in my view, the recommendation for elimination of budget for orchestra should be checked more. The reasons brought in the letter are not persuasive and all questions in the writing should be answered. For better decision, the writer should provide more valid statistical figures.