The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the prompt, the budget planner for city of Grandview mentions that the annual funding provided by the Grandview government should be eliminated, since the Grandview Symphony Orchestra has performed well recently. The budget planner also mentions that a city budget deficit can be forestalled without impedeing the success of the symphony. As it stands, the authors speculation might be true. However, the author has made three unwarranted assumptions that drastically hinder the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the emminence from the symphony is not fleeting. However, this might not be the case, the increase in attendance might have to do with the availability of the ticket and location of the venue. It could be that all the concerts held by the symphony previously were held in a venue that could only one hundred people, so maybe people were unable to book tickets as only a hundred slots were available. If the above mentioned situation is proved to be true, it questions the rationality of statements.

Second of all, the author assumes that since ticket prices have been increased more people will be likely to buy tickets and hence more revenue can be generated from the concert. What if the majority of the people who attend the concert just wanted a fun and cheap event to attend to socialize with their friends and family, if the ticket prices are increased they are prone to consider other locations that are more economical. If the mentioned assumption is true, then the authors contention does not hold water.

lastly, the author assumes that the city's monetary resources have direct correlation with Grandview Symphony Orchestra's annual funding. What if the city is so large that the funding provided to the Grandview symphony annualy does not even consume a significant amount in the city's total annual budget? It could be that the city budget deficit is caused by other reasons like a burgeon of population or extensive construction zones that require alot of logistics funding. If the mentioned case is true, then the credibility of the author's argument is hindered.

In conclusion, if the author wishes to bolster the validity of his argument, he must provide three pieces of evidence (by conducting a systematic study) for the above mentioned questions. The argument can be further assessed and it can be considered as a viable solution.