The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in a memo from the director of student housing of Bucking college that they should build more new attractive dormitories to cope up with the growing enrollment and it would increase the enrollment at Buckingham in near future .However before evaluating the argument which is cited by the director need to explain with proper evidence to show the flaws of the argument.

First of all ,though the current trending of enrollment is uprising in the Buckingham College will it be the same in the next fifty years? The author assumed that It will be more than double in the next fifty year for which new dormitories should be added .Perhaps it might not happen ,student can be attracted to other colleges .If other colleges offers more reasonable and fruitful programme with cheaper cost than Buckingham College, who knows they might call into question about it.As a result the enrollment can be alienated at a significant rate .If either of this happen the conclusion drawn in the above argument will surely be weakened .

Secondly the author assumed that the apartments in Buckingham town will be continue to risen up as it has been in the previous years. But what if the apartment price do not rise in the near future? If there does not occur any development in that particular city ,it might eventually lead to the reduction of the price of the apartments in college area. Perhaps the houses can be then affordable for the students. Moreover they might stay together to split up the rent price of the house .If the above is true the argument does not hold water and it will surely wear out the stated argument .

And lastly the author assumed that ATTRACTIVE dormitories would make prospective students interested about this college .But a prospective students obviously not only be interested just for the dormitories but also he will try to enroll in that college evaluating his future perspective ,his passion towards a subject and the other offers that Buckingham College will make available for the students .Perhaps he will think about all the pros and cons before admitting into a college as it is about his life decision.If either of the scenarios become true ,it is surely weakened the Authors argument in the above.

In conclusion ,as it stands now, is considerably flawed because of its proper justification and numerous assumptions. If author can more evidence regarding his argument about adding more attractive dormitories to attract students in Buckingham College might give a shot about his statement.