The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the text, because the enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. But assumption might be incorrect for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, the author states the data used to project the number of enrollments will double is based on current trends. Projections are made for us to have an idea of what could happen in the future, however 50 years a is considerably long time and there is no evidence in the text that could point that the trend would remain constant during this large amount of years. So, there is a chance that the trend will change 5 years or 10 years from now.

Secondly, the author uses the premise that since the average rent for an apartment in town is rising in recent years, students would find difficult to afford off-campus housing. This assumption does not take into consideration the economic condition of the students. It is not clear if the students would not be able afford off-campus housing. Also, there is a chance that the recent increase on the rents might stop in the next few years, making living off-campus an option.

And finally, the conclusion is that the new dormitories would make students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. This could be a strong argument since accommodation an important variable during the academic life. This could a decision point if a student is torn between two colleges that have similar characteristics but it is definitely not a big remark about a college, since the main strengths of a college would be the college's reputation, the quality of the professors, how developed the laboratories are, the structure of the campus or what are the outside class activities the institution could offer.

The argument as it stands now, it is flawed. More evidence should be given to evaluate the argument more effectively. Since a lot of variables were not taken into consideration, like the cost to build these new dormitories.