The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the memo that, Buckingham College should build new dormitories. Additionally, director bolsters his argument by stating that, college enrollment is growing and in coming 50 years it will be over double. Moreover, it is also claimed that rent of the off campus housing is burgeoning so coming years student will not able to afford it and they will get entice towards the college dormitories. However, before recommendation can properly evaluate some question must be answer.

Firstly, what if, in coming 50 years Buckingham Collage is not able to maintain its reputation? Or what if number of admission drastically falls in coming years? Maybe, in coming 50 years game may change and predication made of next 50 years of doubling the admission may fail. Maybe, students started getting entice to nearby other collage. If this happens to be true then all money will be wasted in construction of new dormitories. It may even lead to debacle as number of dormitories will be left abandon. Predication for next 50 years seems to be byzantine and it can be benighted. If this happens to be true then memo written by director seems to be attenuate.

Secondly, what if housing price drop suddenly? Or what if students can still afford high housing price? In both scenarios, college will experience major debacle. Maybe, in next 50 years housing price reduce as more number of construction is happening off campus. If this happens to be true then in coming 50 years all students will shift to off campus. If in coming 50 years more number of admits are able to afford off campus housing in spite of high price then it is blatant that collage will experience some major loss. By considering this entire scenario it seems that memo written by the director does not hold any water.

Finally, what if majority of student enrolled in collage by seeing its education quality? Or what if majority of students don’t enroll by seeing dormitories? Maybe, most of the student get entice towards the collage by seeing its quality of education and placement after the education instead of seeing dormitories. Most of the students give dormitories second preference so it will not affect or rather increase the number of enrollment. In this scenario it is clearly seen that recommendation made by the director in his memo seems to be erroneous.

In conclusion, the evidence provided by the director, that supports his claim, is dubious as well as erroneous. However, if all questions are answer and more evidence is provided then it will strengthen the argument.