The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrolment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

As Humana University failed to grow from past three years and cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with the budget increase. To solve this problem Humana University will start giving online degree program like those at Omni University. Providing evidence that by doing so Omni University show decrees in their expenditures and number of admission has also increased by 50 percent. However, president of Humana University has not considered aspect and before making this decision some question must be answer.

Firstly, what is the rank of Humana University compare to Omni University? Maybe rank of the Omni University is higher than Humana University so more and more people are taking admissions in Omni University. So it may be nothing to do with online degree course. For instance, if a person is coming from other country than it is blatant that he/she will go for higher ranking universities first. If this is true, than number of people enrolling for degree this year may be less than previous year.

Secondly, where does most of the student of Humana University Live? Or what is the financial background of the students studying in Humana University? Maybe most of the student from Humana University is bucolic. Maybe they don’t have internet access at their home. Or maybe their financial condition is not so strong to buy high speed internet. For example, if there is the student in this university who live in rural area or other country where getting internet access is there, than is such cases he will not able to attend all lectures or perceive his online degree. If this happens to be true then, he/she will not recommend others to take admission in this university.

In conclusion, before starting online degree course this question must be answered. President of Humana University should provide more evidence to strengthen his points.