The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores presumes that placing ads in Exotics Pets Monthly magazine will reverse the declining sales and lead to making profits. He or she gives example of Fish Emporium which started the ads on the magazine and went through 15 percent sales increase, and especially, even more for three stores in Gulf City. Because Fish Emporium store is based on Gulf City, he or she thinks that Dog Pet Store should place ads as well. However, there are a few evidence and supplemental background research required to justify these thoughts(memo).

The director simply puts to become “Dog Pet Store” users on the same shoes with “Fish Emporium” customers. Perhaps people who breeds fish can be an enthusiastic reader of the magazine, Exotic Pets Monthly, but question remains if that dog breeders likes to read the magazine as well. Somehow if residents of Gulf City are more keen to raising fish rather than dogs, then placing ads on the magazine would not be beneficial.

Secondly, the director assumes that magazine ads was substantial reason for sales increase, but this may not stand true. Five years ago, Fish Emporium might have placed ads in many other medium as well, such as TV commercials. People of Gulf city could be more of a TV watching person which in turn, led to seeing the Fish emporium ads subsequently bolstering its sales. Especially, because this was 5 years ago, the efficient medium to put the ad on might be different nowadays. If the effective commercial channel changed, putting ads on magazine might not help increasing sales.

Lastly, altering the trend of declining sales does not guarantee making profit again as the author suggests. Even if the abovementioned obstacles are removed and magazine was efficient, increasing sales and raising profits is a different matter. Placing ads on the Exotic Pets Monthly might cost legs and arms. In such cases, because of the skyrocketed spending on placing ads, even the sales increase, the profit might be worsened in total.

If these assumptions are not warranted by sturdy background research and proof, there is no guarantee of reversing declining sales and making profit again for Dog Pet Stores. If the magazine is substantially proven to be effective and its dog pet stores customers are its readers as well, then the argument might stand well.