The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The managing director of Top Dog Pet Stores concludes that they should start advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine to increase the sales of their stores and turn their business profitable. The author comes to this contention based on the fact that Fish Emporium observed increased in sales after they started to advertise in the magazine. Before we assess the validity of this argument, the author needs to provide additional evidence against the three unwarranted assumptions stated below.

The author assumes that the 15 percent increase in sales denotes a significant number. May be the sales of the Fish Emporium stores was fairly low, such that even 15 percent increase in the sales cannot be consider to be a significant number. It is also possible that the 15 percent increase in sales of Fish Emporium stores is significant for them, but, the same is not even considerable increase in sales of Top Dog Stores to turn them profitable, to even to break even. If either of the above scenarios hold true then the author's contentions fails to hold water.

The author assumes that the increase in sales of Fish Emporium is a result of advertisement. However, there could be multiple reasons for the increase in sales. Like, may be the other major fish stores shutdown and their customer turned to Fish Emporium. It is also possible that the Fish Emporium stores introduced many new varieties of fish in their stores which attracted more customers than ever. Either of the above case, is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

The author assumes that their stores will also see similar increase in sales like the fish stores due to the fact that both stores are located in Gulf City. However, it is possible that the people of Gulf loves to have or gift fishes to other as a symbol of good luck. It is also possible that many inhabitants of Gulf city prefers a pet which does not need constant attention and thus are likely to have a fish than a dog as a pet. In either scenario, the author's assumption is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the managing director might be right that advertising in the magazine would increase the sales of the stores. However, as it stands now the conclusion stands on three assumptions that hinders its validity. The author needs to provide evidences to above mentioned assumptions to increase the persuasiveness of their argument