The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The marketing director of top dog pet stores argument that they should start placing ads in exotic pets monthly magazine is unsound. Furthermore, the prediction that they will reverse the recent decline on sales and start making profit is not entirely cogent. Both argument and prediction are based on dubious inferences and questionable assumptions, which require more information to prove they are valid and reliable.

It is stated that fish emporium store sales increase by 15 percent and the store located at Gulf city obtained a greater increase, because of their advertisement in the magazine exotic pets monthly. This assumption should be proved to be taken into consideration. We would ask if the increase in sales is related to the ad in the magazine or there are other possible explanation. The inference that top dog pet stores will obtain the same result after announce in the magazine could not be true.

Furthermore, the fish emporium started his ads in the magazine five years ago. Therefore, the enhancement of just 15 percent maybe be not significant to support a valid conclusion due to the long time and since we do not know the real numbers this percentage express. It is necessary to know the numbers of this enhancement in order to analyze if it really impacted the profit.

Moreover, the greater increase at Gulf city fish emporium store may be related to the preference or necessity of its residents for the products and services offered by this store. How can we prove that the advertisement caused this enhancement? Therefore, the correlation that top dog large stores in this city will also increase their sales is not plausible.