The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their store saw sales increase by 15 percent. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that placing ads in the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine would reverse Top Dog Pet Stores' sales decline is flawed. Just because Fish Emporium had increase in sales when they started advertising in the magazine five years ago does not mean Top Dog Pet Stores will also realise such increase in sales now. The lack of concrete basis for the argument renders the conclusion invalid.

More signifiicantly, the argument is founded on the assumption that the economic situation in Gulf City is the same as five years ago. For one, no evidence was given as to the financial capabilities of the citizen in the city from five years ago compared with today. Had the argument demonstrated that the people are capable of procuring the stores' product as they were before, then, Top Dog Pet Stores chances of reversing their sales decline may be feasible.

Furthermore, the argument never describes the veracity of the magazine's influence on the city. Although Fish Emporium's increase in sales is purported to be due to the venture into advertising yet it may just be that Exotic Pets Monthly's highly revered status among the residents was responsible for that. Even if the residents chose Fish Emporium for their satisfaction with their products, such is not guaranteed to repeat for Top Dog Pet Stores as well. Nevertheless, while the argument claims that Fish Emporium ads was the cause of their increased sales it neglects the fact that the magazine's credibility may have been the deciding factor.

The argument leaves several other questions unanswered. Are the stores even producing similar products? Despite stating how the adoption of another stores' sales strategy may benefit Top Dog Pet Stores the argument omits the connection between Fish Emporium's sales increase to their finances. Does the 15 percent increase meet their sales need? It could be possible that they were already running at a loss and the increase would not mean much if does not cover their cost enough to break even and start making profit. Nonetheless, the argument claims without warrant that advertising in the magazine would lead to increase in sales and in turn increase in profit.

Therefore, the conclusion of the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores is illogical. Due to the absence of conclusive proof, the argument fails to make a convincing case that placing ads in the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine would reverse Top Dog Pet Stores' sales decline and lead to profit. Ultimately, the argument would have been compelling if the marketing director had showed the similarities in economic situations, products, or citizen preferences of Fish Emporium from five years ago to Top Dog Pet Stores today.