The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based an unwarranted assumption that southeastern Grilldon is the suitable building site for next HobCo Hobby Shop, rendering its main conclusion, a shop in Grilldon will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo costumers, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the research conducted in the city of Grilldon is logical. The survey based on which researchers concluded that residents of Grilldon will welcome the opening of a hobby shop must be further explained. For example, if residents of Grilldon are asked to choose between opening of a new factory that produces a lot of air and noise pollution or opening of a hobby shop, it is vivid that residents would definitely prefer a hobby shop rather than a factory. The argument could have been stronger had it provided some information about details of the survey conducted in that area.

The argument also leaves another unwarranted question. It is stated that 88 percent of people who participated in the poll responded that they will welcome the new hobby shop in the southeastern of Grilldon. However, it is not clear whether or not the number of proponents of hobby shop is significant compared to the total number of population of Grilldon. Researchers may have interviewed only a small number of people in the Grilldon who agreed with having a new hobby shop, therefore results of this survey are not acceptable.

Moreover, it is implied from the argument that the large number of retirees are supposed to use this new HobCo hobby shop. On the contrary, it is not stated if retirees are interested to devote their time to hobbies. In addition, it is not stated clearly in the argument that whether hobbies presented in this hobby shop are suitable for retirees and people of those ages or not. Furthermore, the argument could have been more convincing if it had stated that researchers also interviewed retirees and asked their opinion about opening a new hobby shop in their city.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to make a conducive case that opening a new HobCo hobby shop in the southeastern of Grilldon will draw a steady stream of costumers.