The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The follwing argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that, excessive number of mopeds are the main reason of accidents with pedestrians, rendering its main conclusion, limiting the number of mopeds rented by the island's rental companies would reduce the number of accidents, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that limiting the number of mopeds rented would reduce the frequency of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. These accidents could have been casued by the impudent (imprudent !!!) pedestrians who intercept the path that mopeds are crossing. The argument could have been stronger had it provided information regarding, why pedestrians should not be blamed for these accidents.

The argument also leaves another unwarranted question. It is implied from the argument that since Seaville's town council enforced limits on the number of moped rentals, in Balmer Island the same percentage of reduction in the accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds would happen if the town council imposes the same limitations on mopeds. However, the circumstances in Searville could have been different from Barmal's. In Searville's town council may have imposed other limitations on the pedestrians as well, such as prohibiting pedestrians to cross the areas where mopeds are probable to cross. Therefore this limits on pedestrians have reduced the number ofm accidents in Searville.

Moreover, limiting the number of mopeds rented by the companies from 50 to 25 per day during the summer may still be excessive compared to the total population of Balmar Island. Since in Balmar mopeds are the main form of transportation, numerous companies would rent (lend !!!) mopeds to people of Balmar. Therefore, even renting 25 mopeds per day during the summer by each company would not reduce the total number of mopeds on streets of Balmar in compared to human population in that island.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to make a convincing case that limiting the number of mopeds would reduce the number of accidents between people and mopeds.