The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that poor state of economy and low expenditures on fitness-related products have made citizens less physically fit, rendering this conclusion invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that high level of computer ownership and spending too much time using these computers has not caused the decline in fitness. It is implied from the argument that twenty years ago Corpora's citizens met the standards for physical fitness. However, the argument does not state anything about use of computer and computer ownership twenty years ago. The argument would have been stronger had it provided that people, twenty years ago, did not own computers and therefore had better physical and fitness levels.

The argument leaves many unwarranted questions. It is stated that less expenditures on fitness-related products and services are the main causes that people of Corpora do not have enough physical exercise. However, the argument does not say anything about fitness-related services two decades ago in Corpora when higher percentage of Corpora's citizens met the standards for physical fitness. The argument could have been more convincing if it had provided more evidance regarding high expenditures on fitness-related products and services twenty years ago.

The argument also claims without warrant that economy had direct influences on Corpora's citizens’ fitness levels. The argument states that poor state of economy discourages people of Corpora from buying fitness-related services. On the other hand, the argument implies that people of Corpora own computers and spend so much time on using them. So there is a vivid pradox that if the economy is not thriving these days in Corpora, its citizens should not have been able to buy and own computers since computers are expensive devices.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to make a convincing case that poor state of economy has made citizens less physically fit.