Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government funding could solve numerous social problems however, these problems should be prioritized and governments should decide which problem to address first.

High rate of unemployment would cause social crisis. When people in one society are unemployed, they could not earn enough money to make ends meet and balance their lives economically. In the worst scenario, unemployed people would not be able even to afford their food and therefore would be hungry. These people have high potent to cause social crisis by burglarizing and stealing from the rich. Thereafter, that society is not secure for its people any longer.

High rate of unemployment and poor economic conditions would eschew people from appreciating art and beauty. When people find themselves unable to accommodate even the slightest needs of their lives such as housing or affording food to eat, they would not spend any money to visit art exhibitions. People living in hard economic conditions would find it more appropriate to spend their tiny amount of money on more important issues such as paying their debts than to buy tickets for an art exhibition.

On the other hand, suspending government funding for the arts permanently would not be a wise decision. Art galleries can provide hundreds of job opportunities for the youth. People who study art at universities need to have a work place after they graduate from their universities. If government does not fund art galleries and abandons these places because of high level of unemployment in the society, this would exacerbate the unemployment rate since these young artists who came out their universities would not find proper jobs. Moreover, artists could use their talents to reflect social problems effectively and force the governments to solve social problems.

To draw a conclusion, nations should prioritize their problems and needs. Governments should use their funding for more critical problems, however eliminating any kind of funding for the arts would double the social problems.