The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing

Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes the company to resume production of their alpaca overcoat, which they stop production due to the difficulties in geting wool fabric. To support this recommendation, the author cites the facts that no competitor is making alpaca overcoat and the price of clothing is higher. Undeniably, the ultimate goal of this proposal is to bring more profits to the company. But several evidence is needed to evaluate whether the advice is parctical before the company take the it.

To begin with, one of the most cricial peices of evidence needed be provided is that whether there is a demand for alpaca overcoat in the market. The author mentions that their major competitor no longer makes alpaca overcoats, but this peice of evidence is far from proving customers are willing to buy one. Because it is possible that competitors saw there was few damand for alpaca overcoats in the market, they stop producting overcoats. If the author can give the evidence that alpaca overcoats are still the trend for customers, the proposal of resuming the production of alpaca overcoats is highly strenthened. Otherwise, it may turns out the proposal is not practical.

Even if customers still like alpaca overcoasts, evidence that proving selling alpaca overcoats is profitable to the company is still needed. If the priece of fabric from the company's new supplier is high and the profit is low, maybe it is not worth to resume the production and the recommendation is therefore weakened. However, if the author can provide evidence that the priece of fabric is low enough to bring profits, then the company can consider the advice.

In addition, the fact that most types of clothing's price has increased in the past five years is a weak one to support the author's claim. Five year is relatively short period of time to indicate a possible trend in the future. It could happen that when the company strat selling alpaca overcoat, the economic situation might worsen so that price of clothing all decrease. Moreover, it is possible that consumer won't accept the high price of alpaca overcoat. Thus, the peice of evidence indicating that the price of alpaca overcoat can be set high and accpeted by the marker is needed to judge the practicality of the resuming production.