The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of

The memo from the New vice president of a cloth manufacturer claims that they should increase production of alpaca overcoat owing to good wool supply, decreased market competition and increased market value for the product. However, the argument fails to consider current market scenario, cause behind abandonment of major competitor and overgeneralizes pattern of rise in cloth pricing. Thus, the author is expected to re-analyze the argument based on additional evidence and market research.

Firstly, the author considers that expected sale of overcoat is similar if not burgeoned as compared to the market five years ago. However, a lot of things changes during this period. It is incorrect to assume that people's perspective regarding that overcoat have not changed, and still prefer that type of overcoat without proper market research. For instance, similar-looking synthetic fiber overcoat maybe available in the market at much lower price compared to authentic alpaca overcoat and costumers may have shifted towards it. On the other hand, people's preference towards dress changes with age. The generation men who wear alpaca overcoat may have become older and their preference might be changed. Failing to consider these factors can make the assumption regarding similar market condition lose its ground, eventually making argument weaker.

Secondly, Lack of competition from major competitor of that time is assumed as market opportunity, without proper research. It may be true that the competitor has lost its market to new competitors, creating similar product at much lower price. In this context, major competitor losing market can be an ominous sign for the company to resume production. Similarly, it maybe true that decreased market preference of overcoat may have forced the competitor to abandon its production. In either case, lack of the then major competitor means it was difficult for him to sell its product and hence the market seems much difficult to penetrate, decreasing sale of product.

Finally, the argument generalizes price increase of other commodity as an opportunity to increase price of the product without further research. It is not true that price of every product rises at same rate. some products price may have risen significantly in comparision to other products. this is determined by consumer preference. Probably, price of specified product is decreased while overall price is in increasing pattern. Further, Most of the times, increased cost of production forces producers to increase price of their products. This is one probable cause behind price hike, which is not considered by the author. If this is the condition, profit from the product may not be as high as expected by author. In either case, the profit will not be as expected.

In this way, the argument made by author to increase production of overcoat seems questionable in various assumptions it makes during its formation as mentioned above. Author is expected to conduct more rigorous market research and more serious analysis of their findings in order to make big market decisions like that. The findings will ascertain wheather resuming production will bring considerable chunk of profit, and hence butress the argument.