The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following

recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement

electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations.

Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and

punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or

recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to

detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees

from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall

profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation, the author proposes to monitor their employee's Internet use from their workstations, by installing a software that can detect Internet use on company computers. Undeniably, the ultimate goal of this proposal is to boost employees' productivity, which is benificial for the company. But several assumptions make the conclusion that the software will be efficient unstanable.

To begin with, the biggest assumption the author makes is that employees would wasting less time on the Internet once the software is installed to detect their Internet use on compnay computers. With the fast development of technology, nowadays people don't need computers to do personal activities like playing games or chatting online. All they need is a smartphone. Even if they stop using company's computers to do such activities, they can still spend time on their smartphones, which the company has no right to install any software to monitor the use of Internet. In that case, maybe the company can consider monitor Wi-Fi use instead of monitoring computer use.

Moreover, even if employees can not use their personal phones to conduct recreational activities, the author harshly assumes that when people stop wasting time on the Internet, they will spend those time on work. Employees may wondering around, or chatting with their friends in the company. The Internet use may not to be blame for the low productivity. In that case, installing software on computers may not help, since employees can still find other offline things to waste their time.

The third assumption that highly weaken the author's conlusion is that they assume that time spent on recreational activites has side effect on employees' productivity. It is possible that employees' work is more efficient when they spend some time to relax on the Internet. Employees could be happier and more enthusastic with their work when they are free to spend time on the Internet. The author need to figure out whether those personal activities are "waste of time" before the company decide to prevent empoyees from doing so.

To sum up, the three assumptions the president relies strongly weaken the practicality of installing monitoring software on company's computers. Before the author can prove those assumptions are grounded and reliable, their recommendation should not be taken by the company.