The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing

Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes the company resume production of their alpaca overcoat, which they stop production due to the difficulties in getting the wool fabric. To support this recommendation, the author cites that no competitor makes alpaca overcoats, and the clothing price is higher. Undeniably, the ultimate goal of this proposal is to bring more profits to the company. But several pieces of evidence are needed to evaluate whether the advice is practical before the company takes it.

To begin with, one of the most crucial pieces of evidence needed to be provided is whether there is a demand for an alpaca overcoat in the market. The author mentions that their major competitor no longer makes alpaca overcoats, but this evidence needs to prove that customers are willing to buy one. Because competitors may have seen little demand for alpaca overcoats in the market, they stopped producing them. If the author can give evidence that alpaca overcoats are still the trend for customers, the proposal of resuming the production of alpaca overcoats is highly strengthened. Otherwise, the proposal may not be practical.

Even if customers still like alpaca overcoats, evidence that proving to sell alpaca overcoats is profitable to the company is still needed. If the price of fabric from the company's new supplier is high and the profit is low, it may not be worth it to resume production, and the recommendation is therefore weakened. However, if the author can provide evidence that the fabric price is low enough to bring profits, then the company can consider the advice.

In addition, the fact that most types of clothing prices have increased in the past five years is a weak one to support the author's claim. Five years is a relatively short period to indicate a possible trend in the future. When the company start selling alpaca overcoat, the economic situation might worsen so that price of clothing all decrease. Moreover, consumers may only accept the high cost of alpaca overcoats. Thus, the evidence indicating that the price of alpaca overcoat can be set high and taken by the marker is needed to judge the practicality of resuming production.

To sum up, the author needs to ensure those four assumptions discussed above are warranted before the company take their proposal.