The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of the cheese company concludes that, discontinuing to stock many of their varieties of imported cheese could help improve the profits of the company. Their decision was based on several factors such as a survey that indicated the increasing preference of domestic cheese among its subscribers. Although the cited evidences seem logical and probable, but the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument. Thus the conclusion seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that since, last year all of the five best selling cheeses at their newest stores were domestic in nature, hence people prefer domestic cheeses over the imported ones. However, it may happen that last year these cheese were sold at discount and hence there was an increase in sales of these varieties of cheeses. Furthermore, the imported cheese could be more expensive than domestic ones, so their sales must be low, as the people cannot afford to buy them. It may happen that this year, the prices of domestic cheeses have inflated and hence people will buy more of imported cheese due to its higher quality. The author also suggests that, it was their newest stores where the sales of domestic cheeses were higher. But are the sales of domestic cheeses also higher in the older chain of stores as well?. It may happen that the customers of older stores still prefer the imported cheese over the domestic ones. The company relies on production of five best selling cheese on Wisconsin. But, if Wisconsin due to some reason in future stops producing cheese, then the company can incur loss instead of profit. The argument would be strengthened if the owner had provided additional information about what other factors could be attributed to the increase of sales of domestic cheeses. He could have also provided more information about the quality of both the types of cheeses.

In addition to this, the owner assumes that the survey conducted by the Cheese Magazine was representative, accurate and reliable. But, if the number of subscribers of the Magazine is low, then the conclusion cannot be considered as accurate. Furthermore, if the survey was conducted considering only a small part of the population who is not much interested in cheese then it fails to provide relaible results. Also it may happen that a particular company who sells domestic cheese has enticed certain subscribers of the magazine to give higher ratings to them and in return receive discounts on their cheese. Thus small, biased and unrepresentative surveys are not sufficient to reach to the given conclusion.

To sum up, the argument consists of certain obvious loopholes and fallacies. To bolster the argument the owner should have provided additional information about how the survey was conducted or how many subscribers of the magazine were there and was their number statistically significant. He should have probably provided some comparisons between the qualities and prices of the two types of cheese. In the absence of this data the conlclusion relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.