In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most of the times, any work our art must be created in a way that it should have greater impact on the society.The evaluation of the significance of any film, poem, song can be done by taking into consideration that how much impactful has it been in creating beneficial changes in the society.However, it cannot be limited to this narrow scope , as art itself is an infinite domain with many factors to be considered while it is being judged.It is an amalgamation of creativity and knowledge which can be an esoteric subject. Hence, it cannot be concluded that any work of art has merit only if it is understandable to most people.

A work of art has various elements which determine its creativity and uniqueness. Sometimes, art is valued on the basis of its uniqueness over other pieces of art work or on how much effort has the artist put in in order to create that piece of art.In this case the piece of art work is significantly valued, even if the art is understood by just a few people.For instance, consider most of the paintings that are present in the art galleries.Often, the general public isn't able to interpret them and often mock at the basicness of the painting.This is because they are not really aware of the meaning behind the painting and what it really indicates.But there exists a few experts, who can instantly understand the significance of any piece of art work and hence, it is these complex paintings, which are actually sold at tremendously high prices. Similarily, consider any art film, which does not go hit and popular when it is first released.But these films contain such strong and powerful messages and have such great direction skills that the ones who are aware of their significance rate it higher than the usual.For example, the films made my the Indian director Satyajit Ray, were not undertstood by the general public of 1980s.They often interpreted his films as a motive to defy their laws and traditions.However, the same director has recieved an Oscar for his films that indicated the greatness of his work.Thus any work of an art need not be given merit simply because it is understood by the general public.

However,in contrast to the above statement, it is true that many poems,films and novels have tried to depict the social conditions existing in the society and have thus made a large contribution in developing the existing conditions of the society. For instance, a patriotic poem written by an author can gain immense popularity due to its message and its power to incite great deals of partiotism in the general public. Or consider, a film which was based on Anandi Gopal,the first female doctor in India.This film was designed to inspire young girls to achieve their dreams. Normally, people from the villages and countryside are narrow-minded and illiterate and do not allow girls to obtain education.Thus the film must be directed in such a way that even these people can easily interpret its meaning and hence get influenced by it.It would be futile if the film was too complex to be understood and thus cannot have any impact on these people.

To sum up, although it is in most of the cases necessary for a film, song, or poem to be understood by the general population in order to have a greater impact on them, but it is not always necessary to judge the film only on this basis as it would be unfair for the other piece of art work who are also significant in terms of their creativity and uniqueness.